OUR STATE’S CAPITAL
Located on both sides of the Kennebec River at the head of tide, Augusta is one of the United States’ most beautiful capitals. As Maine’s capital city since 1827, Augusta is a city rich in history.
The area was first explored by the Popham Colony in 1607 and was first inhabited by English settlers from the Plymouth Colony in 1628 as a trading post. At this time, the area was known by its Native American name, Cushnoc, meaning “head of the tide.”
From those early days, the city has grown as the center of state and county government, an industrial and trade center, and a center for the region’s health and educational services. Augusta is the center of employment, commerce and service for Central Maine.
Recreational opportunities and cultural activities play an important role of life in Augusta. From outdoor concerts and movies to museums to golf to public and state parks to fishing and hunting to shopping and more, Augusta has all the best Maine has to offer within your reach.
Belgrade, located 10 miles northwest of Augusta, was incorporated in 1796.
The sixty square miles of the town are largely composed of lakes, streams, and wetlands. Boaters will find plenty of water surface to cruise on from morning to night. For those who enjoy fishing, Belgrade’s bodies of water offer several species of fish, including landlocked salmon, brook trout, and largemouth and smallmouth bass.
Chelsea was incorporated on March 1, 1851 from a portion of Hallwell. Laying directly to the south of Augusta on the eastern bank of the Kennebec River, Chelsea is the “gateway to the capital.”
Dresden is a small town located on the eastern banks of the Kennebec River in Lincoln County. Historic sites in the town include Bridge Academy and the Pownalborough Courthouse.
Located on the western banks of the Kennebec River between Gardiner and Hallowell, Farmingdale is a vibrant residential community with densely populated riverbanks and open rural land. The town was incorporated on April 3, 1852 from parts of South Hallowell, North Gardiner, and West Gardiner.
Fayette is a small town community located approximately 19 miles northwest of the state capital. The town shares some of the most beautiful lakes and ponds in central Maine with the bordering towns of Mount Vernon, Readfield, and Wayne.
Gardiner is historic city full of culture and architecture. Established as Gardinerston in 1754 and officially incorporated in 1803 as Gardiner, the city sits along the Kennebec River at the head of navigation.
Hallowell lies south of Augusta and rests on the banks of the Kennebec River. The city is classified as a National Historic District and is known for its culture and architecture.
Jefferson is a town in Lincoln County with a small, friendly community. A majority of Jefferson is located on the shores of Damariscotta Lake, offering beautiful scenery and a relaxing atmosphere.
Litchfield is located 16 miles southwest of Augusta in southern Kennebec County. It is a rural community situated on and around the Tacoma Lakes. Litchfield residents are a mix of commuters, farmers, business professionals, vacation property owners, and retirees.
Manchester was settled in 1775 and was incorporated as the town of Kennebec in 1850. The town’s name was changed to Manchester in 1854.
Monmouth is a quintessential Maine town comprised of artistic culture and agriculture. The town was first settled as Freetown in 1776 and would also become called Bloomingborough and Wales before being incorporated as Monmouth in 1792.
Incorporated in 1792, Mount Vernon is a small town in Maine situated in the beautiful lake region of central Maine at the foothills of the Appalachian Mountain range.
Pittston is located about seven miles south of Maine’s capital along the eastern shore of the Kennebec River just across from the city of Gardiner. Pittston is a small rural town with the beauty of the historic Kennebec River as a backdrop along with easy access to all services the capital area has to offer.
Randolph, about 2 square miles in size, is about 6 miles south of Augusta. It has a small town atmosphere with the proximity to all services and schools. The town lies along the bank of the Kennebec River just across from the City of Gardiner.
Readfield is a small rural community and a popular recreation spot in central Maine. There are nine lakes and ponds within the towns limits as well as many hiking and walking trails.
Settled in 1725 and incorporated in 1823, Richmond is a charming community made up of beautiful farms, Victorian and Greek Revival homes, and a growing vibrant village. The town sits on the banks of the Kennebec River with Swan Island, an abandoned 18th and 19th century town called Perkins Township, a stone’s throw away.
Somerville, located in Lincoln County, was incorporated on March 25, 1858 from Patricktown Plantation. The plantation had existed at least since 1813. It is a quiet town with a tradition of community. Many of its residents are descendants of those who settled there in the 1800s.
Wayne is a small town 15 miles west of Augusta. The town was incorporated in 1798 and named after Revolutionary War General Anthony Wayne.
Located in Kennebec County, West Gardiner was incorporated on August 8, 1850 from a portion of Gardiner. The town has frontage along the Cobbosseecontee Lake and Stream.
The remains of farm buildings on the Lewiston Road (Route 9/126) recall an earlier time when large farmhouses, barns, and silos dominated the landscape.
Whitefield was settled in 1770 and was incorporated in 1809 from the portion of the Ballstown Plantation that was remaining after the town of Jefferson was incorporated.
The town has a strong sense of community fostered through its rich history, its diverse population, recreation, and locally produced crafts, artwork, and foods. Visitors can get a taste of Maine with locally raised meats and organic vegetables sold at Whitefield’s general stores.
Windsor is small town located approximately 13 miles east of the state capitol, Augusta. The town was incorporated as Malta in 1809. In 1820, it was reincorporated as Gerry to honor statesman Elbridge Gerry, and, two years later, it was incorporated again as Windsor.
Located about 10 miles west of Maine’s capital city, Winthrop was incorporated on April 26, 1771. With over 12 lakes, ponds, and streams along with hundreds of acres of farmlands and undeveloped woodlands, there is an abundance of opportunities for boating, fishing, hiking, and enjoying the wildlife.